Endowed Chairs and Professorships

Endowed chairs and professorships provide support for the important research that our talented faculty members conduct and enhance their efforts in specialized areas of study. The annual income can propel research, provide funding for professional development, help pay student workers or create opportunities for collaboration with scholars around the world.

Endowed professorships and chairs are our most prestigious faculty appointments and our highest academic award. It is an honor to the named holder of the appointment and also an enduring acknowledgement to the donor who established it.

The College of Engineering is proud to have the following distinguished professors among its faculty:

College of Engineering


Associate Professor Paul Furth taught a class on analog technology for the Engineering New Mexico Resource Network.Associate Professor Paul Furth holds the John Kaichiro Nakayama and Tome Miyaguchi Nakayama Professorship for Teaching Excellence

  • John Kaichiro Nakayama and Tome Miyagushi Nakayama Professorship for Research Excellence  and Teaching Excellence: Paul Furth, Young Ho Park, Catherine Brewer
    Former recipients: Ou Ma, Phillip DeLeon (first recipients)
  • PECSO Endowed Professorship in Industrial Water Quality and Reclamation Research: Pei Xu



Chemical Engineering

  • Luke Barry Shires Endowed Professorship in Chemical and Materials Engineering: Hongmei Luo
  • Robert Davis Distinguished Professorship in Chemical Engineering: David Rockstraw
    Former Recipients: Shuguang Deng, Martha Mitchell (first recipients)



Civil Engineering

  • Ed and Harold Foreman Endowed Chair in Civil Engineering: Nagamany Nirmalakhandan (first recipient)
  • John Clark Distinguished Professorship: Lambis Papelis 
    Former Recipient: Nirmala Khandan (first recipient)

NMSU Professor and Civil Engineering Department Head David Jáuregui leads the Bridge Inspection Program that provides students with career-critical education and experience. (NMSU photo by Darren Phillips)Civil Engineering Department Head David Jauregui holds the Ed Foreman Distinguished Professorship in Civil Engineering

  • Ed Foreman Endowed Professorship for Excellence in Civil Engineering: David Jáuregui
    Former Recipients: Peter Martin, Rola Idriss (first recipient)
  • Harold Foreman Distinguished Professorship in Civil Engineering: Brad Weldon
    Former Recipient: Zohrab Samani (first recipient)
  • Wells-Hatch Family Endowed Distinguished Professorship in Civil Engineering: Paola Bandini
    Former RecipientDavid Jáuregui (first recipient)



Electrical and Computer Engineering

  • Frank Carden Endowed Chair in Telemetering and Telecommunications: Charles Creusere
    Former Recipients: Frank Carden, William P. Osborne, Stephen Horan
  • PNM Endowed Chair for Utility Management: Satish Ranade (first recipient)
  • International Foundation for Telemetering Professorship in Electrical and Computer Engineering: Deva Borah
    Former Recipient: Deva Borah
  • William Kersting Endowed Professorship in Power Systems Engineering: TBA
    Former Recipient: Sukumar Brahma (first recipient)
  • Paul W. and Valerie Klipsch Distinguished Professorships in Electrical and Computer Engineering: Phillip DeLeon, Steven J. Stochaj, Wei Tang, and David Voelz
    Former RecipientsKwong Ng, Jaime Ramirez-Angulo, David VoelzVojin Oklobdzija, Mike Giles



Mechanical Engineering

  • Dwight and Audrey Chapman Distinguished Professorship in Mechanical Engineering: TBA
    Former Recipients: Eric Butcher (first recipient), Igor Sevostinov
  • Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Academy Distinguished Professorship: TBA
    Former recipients: Mingjuin WeiIgor Sevostianov (first recipient)
  • Forrest Mooney Endowed Professorship in Aerospace Engineering: TBA
  • Robert G. Myers Department Head Professorship in Mechanical Engineering: Jay Frankel
    Former Recipients: Thomas Burton (first recipient), Ian LeslieRuey-Hung Chen

Pending Completion of Endowment Funding

  • Ken White Endowed Professorship in Structures and Transportation Engineering
  • George W. Lucky Endowed Professorship for Excellence in Engineering Education
  • Dr. John Minor P.E. Memorial Endowed Professorship