Engineering inducts two to the Circle of Honor

Writer: Linda Fresques

The College of Engineering at New Mexico State University bestowed two alumni with the college’s highest honor, the Circle of Honor.  Dan Arvizu, director and chief executive of the National Renewable Energy Laboratory, along with Alvy Ray Smith, co-founder and former executive vice president of Pixar, joined an exclusive group during Homecoming 2012. Only eight people have previously been inducted into the Circle of Honor.

Dan Arvizu

Dr. Dan Arvizu

The Circle of Honor is the highest College of Engineering recognition of an individual for contributions to the engineering profession or the college. Membership is limited and is permanent. Thus, a person to be honored should be an alum or friend of the college who has distinguished his or herself at the highest levels through a career to which our students should aspire. This honor is awarded by the Dean of the College of Engineering based on the recommendation of the academic department heads and the deans of the college. Medallions for the Circle of Honor inductees are placed around the outer circle of the Clock of Dreams on the Bromilow Mall.

Dan Arvizu has been the director and chief executive of the U.S. Department of Energy’s National Renewable Energy Laboratory since 2005. NREL, in Golden, Colo., is the DOE’s primary laboratory for energy efficiency and renewable energy R&D. NREL is operated for DOE by the Alliance for Sustainable Energy, LLC. Arvizu is president of Alliance. Arvizu has a bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering from NMSU and master’s and doctoral degrees in mechanical engineering from Stanford University. Arvizu was also honored as the College of Engineering Distinguished Alum at Homecoming.

Alvy Ray Smith

Dr. Alvy Ray Smith

Alvy Ray Smith is former director of computer graphics research for Lucasfilm, co-founder and former executive vice president of Pixar, and CEO and founder of Altamira Software Corp. Smith obtained a bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering from NMSU in 1965. He received his doctoral degree in computer engineering from Stanford University in 1970 and was awarded an honorary doctorate from NMSU in 1999.



Circle of Honor Inductees

Dan Arvizu – 2012
Alvy Ray Smith – 2012
C. Gerald “Jerry” King – 2008
Jerome “Jerry” Shaw – 2006
Robert W. Davis – 2005
Valerie Klipsch – 2005
Earl Goddard – 2004
George W. Lucky – 2003
Harold Brown – 1999
Paul W. Klipsch – 1998

For full biographies of Arvizu and Smith and other inductees can be found at Circle of Honor.

This entry was posted in Alumni News, News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.