Concrete group establishes civil engineering scholarship

By Linda Fresques

The New Mexico Chapter of the American Concrete Institute has made a gift of $20,000 to establish an endowed scholarship to benefit civil engineering students in the NMSU College of Engineering. The scholarship will be awarded to full-time students with a grade point average of 3.0 or greater.

The chapter has also supported the Samuel P. Maggard civil engineering scholarships at NMSU for many years, said W.L. “Bill” Barringer, executive director of the group. “We wanted to start a scholarship that would sustain itself in the future. The whole purpose of our organization is to further concrete education and we hope to support students who will go on to have careers in the concrete industry or recommend concrete inconstruction.”

The group has also provided support to the NMSU Concrete Canoe team, a group that participates in the American Society of Civil Engineers annual student competition to design, build and race canoes constructed with concrete.  NMSU’s team won the regional competition this past May and took sixth place in the National competition in Alabama in June.

The American Concrete Institute (ACI) is a nonprofit technical and educational society organized in 1904 and is one of the world’s leading authorities on concrete technology. ACI is a forum for the discussion of all matters related to concrete and the development of solutions to problems.

The New Mexico Chapter of the ACI was started in 1984. Barringer, a retired concrete engineer, was one of the founding members of the group that conducts annual certification programs for persons testing concrete and concrete making materials.  Most construction projects require certified technicians to test the concrete provided to the project. The group also holds Excellence in Concrete Awards every two years, recognizing outstanding concrete projects completed in the state.

The chapter’s current board of directors are Tony Montoya, president; Ken Wylie, vice president; Daniel Mayen, secretary/treasurer; Martin McAllister, John McCoskey and Jeff Myers, directors; and Rick Dyke, past president.

This entry was posted in News, Student News and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.