Aggie, Ingeniero March 2011

College of Engineering gives honors in name of former dean

The College of Engineering presented the Bromilow Research and Staff Awards on Feb. 25. Established in 1978 to honor the late Frank Bromilow, former College of Engineering dean, they are the only awards given by the college.

Phillip De Leon

Phillip De Leon

Recipients for the research awards are nominated by the engineering faculty and selected by the College of Engineering department heads.

Recipient of this year’s research award is Phillip De Leon, a professor in the Klipsch School of Electrical and Computer Engineering and director of the Advanced Speech and Audio Processing Laboratory. He teaches courses in digital signal processing and has research interests in adaptive-, real-time-, and speech-signal processing, embedded systems, pattern recognition and machine learning.

Charlie Park

Charles Park

The 2011 Bromilow Staff Excellence award went to Charlie Park who works for the Manufacturing Technology and Engineering Center (M-TEC) in a job that encompasses a broad spectrum of duties in the College of Engineering. Park is Manufacturing Lab Shop Manager and is the instructor for the largest lab in the college (IE/ET 217 and ME 222 with 90 students for spring 2011 in five lab sections). He provides key technical support for M-TEC’s outreach and extension program for New Mexico businesses.

Richard Archuleta

Richard Archuleta

Civil engineering student Richard Archuleta was the recipient of the Bromilow Scholarship Award for the second year in a row. Archuleta is the president of the Engineer’s Council and is expected to graduate this coming May. He will attend graduate school at NMSU in the fall.

The Bromilow awards ceremony is followed by a lecture. This year’s lecture, given by electrical engineering alum Douglas L. Davis, was titled “Moore’s Law and its impact on the future of computing.” Davis is vice president and general manager of the Netbook and Tablet Group, Intel Corporation.

The Bromilow lecture and awards were established in honor of Frank Bromilow, dean of the College of Engineering and director of the Engineering Experiment Station from 1961-1974. The awards are considered annually by the College of Engineering in recognition of Bromilow’s leadership and enhancement of the quality of faculty during his tenure as dean.

And Don’t Miss These Stories