Distinguished Lecturers

The Bromilow Lecture Series honors the late Frank Bromilow, professor and department head, civil engineering 1951-1961; dean and director Engineering Experiment Station, 1961-1974.

The lecture is held during National Engineers’ Week in February.

The following distinguished lecturers have presented the Bromilow Lectures:

  • Jack Davis-2018
    Chairman, Portland General Electric Board
    “What is an engineer, anyway”?
  • Christopher Long-2017
    Orbital ATK , Vice President of National Security Systems
  • Jim Chavez-2016
    Vice President of the Energy, Nonproliferation and High Consequence Security Division and the International, Homeland and Nuclear Security Programs at Sandia National Laboratories, Albuquerque, New Mexico
    “Nuclear Nonproliferation: Treaties and Technologies”
  • John Mulholland-2015
    Vice President and Manager, The Boeing Company
  • Dr. S. J. (Stephen) Charlton-2014
    Vice President and Chief Technical Officer, Engine Division, Cummins Inc.
    Columbus, Indiana
    “The critical role of engineers in a changing world”
  • Dr. A. Salim Bawazir-2013
    Associate Professor, New Mexico State University Department of Civil Engineering
    Las Cruces, New Mexico
    “Evolution of Research in Water Resources Engineering at NMSU”
  • Colonel William T. “Bill” Cooley-2012
    Commander, Phillips Research Site and Materiel Wing, and  director, Space Vehicles Directorate, Air Force Research Laboratory at Kirtland Air Force Base
    Albuquerque, New Mexico
    “Government Science and Engineering: Lab to Living Room”
  • Mr. Douglas L. Davis – 2011
    Corporate Vice President and General Manager, Netbook and Tablet Group, Intel Architecture Group
    “Moore’s Law and its impact on the future of computing
  • Dr. Charles Farrar – 2010
    Engineering Institute Leader, Los Alamos National Laboratory
    Los Alamos, New Mexico
    “Structural Health Monitoring: An Engineering Grand Challenge for the 21stCentury”
  • Dr. Jeanine Cook – 2009
    Associate Professor, NMSU Klipsch School of Electrical and Computer Engineering
    Las Cruces, New Mexico
  • Ms. Shaunna Black – 2008
    Vice President and Manager, Worldwide Facilities, Texas Instruments
    Dallas, Texas
  • Mr. Edmund G. Archuleta – 2007
    General Manager, El Paso Water Utilities
    El Paso, Texas
  • Dr. Thomas O. Hunter – 2006
    Sandia Corporation, Sandia National Laboratories
    Albuquerque, New Mexico
  • Dr. Dan E. Arvizu – 2005
    Director, National Renewable Energy Laboratory
    Golden, Colorado
  • Rhonda Gail Faught – 2004
    Cabinet Secretary, NM Department of Transportation
    Santa Fe, New Mexico
  • Ms. Patty Lopez-2003
    Imaging Scientist, Hewlett Packard
    Greeley, Colorado
  • Mr. Christopher W. Hickman – 2002
    Executive Director, Engineering & Technology, Public Service Company of New Mexico (PNM)
    Albuquerque, New Mexico
  • Dr. Alvy Ray Smith – 2001
    Seattle, Washington
  • Mr. Ben Montoya – 2000
    Chairman, President and CEO, Public Service Company of New Mexico (PNM)
    Albuquerque, New Mexico
  • Mr. D’jaris A. Moore – 1999
    Vice President, IBM Global Education-INTERNET2
    Atlanta, Georgia
  • Mr. Ricardo Blazquez – 1998
    Plant Manager, GM Delphi Chassis Systems
    Needmore/Wisconsin Operations
  • Mr. Jack Groves – 1997
    President, Groves, Wray & Associates
    Albuquerque, New Mexico
  • Mr. Robert W. Davis – 1996
    Retired President and CEO, Chevron Chemical Company
    El Cerito, California
  • Mr. Jerome “Jerry” Shaw – 1995
    Executive VI and Chief Operations Officer
    Volt Information Sciences, Inc.
  • Mr. George K. Petty – 1994
    Vice President, AT&T
    Global Business Services
  • Dr. Paul W. Klipsch – 1993
    President, Klipsch and Associates, Inc.
    Hope, Arkansas
  • Mr. Thomas Garcia – 1992
    NM Vice President, US WEST Communications
    Albuquerque, New Mexico
  • Mr. John Whitmire – 1991
    Vice President, Phillips Petroleum Company
    North America Exploration & Production
  • Mr. C.G. “Jerry” King – 1990
    Executive VP, Boeing Military Airplane, Defense & Space Group
    Seattle, Washington
  • Mr. G. Robert Durham – 1989
    President and Chairman of the Board
    Phelps Dodge Corporation
  • Mr. Edgar F. Foreman – 1988
    President, Executive Development Systems
    Dallas, Texas
  • Lt. General Leo Marquez – 1987
    Deputy Chief of Staff for Logistics & Engineering
  • Mr. William K. Shriver, President – 1986
    Phillips Pipe Line Company
    Bartlesville, Oklahoma
  • Mr. Jerry Geist – 1985
    President, Public Service of New Mexico
    Albuquerque, New Mexico
  • Dr. George Darcy – 1984
    President, Sandia National Laboratories
    New Mexico
  • Mr. Herbert Koogle – 1983
    Koogle & Pouls Engineering, Inc.
    Albuquerque, New Mexico
  • Dr. Donald Kerr – 1982
    Los Alamos Scientific Laboratories
    New Mexico
  • Dean Morgan Sparks – 1981
    Anderson School of Managment,
    University of New Mexico
  • Dr. Edward W. Jerger – 1980
    Assoc. Dean & Professor of Mechanical
    Engineering, University of Notre Dame
  • Dr. John F. Kennedy – 1979
    Director, Iowa Institute for Hydraulic Research
    University of Iowa
  • Admiral Charles C. Heid – 1978
    Commander, Atlantic Division
    Naval Facilities Engineering Command
  • H.E. Bovay, Jr., PE – 1977
    Bovey Engineers, Inc.
    Houston, Texas
  • A.C. Ingersol, PE – 1976
    University of California
    Los Angeles, California
  • Dr. Joseph C. Hogan – 1975
    Dean Emeritus, College of Engineering
    University of Notre Dame

NOTE: All titles and affiliations are listed as they were at the time they were the Bromilow Lecturer.