Bromilow Awards


Frank Bromilow

The Bromilow Awards are considered annually by the College of Engineering in recognition of Frank Bromilow’s leadership and enhancement of the quality of faculty during his tenure as Dean of the College of Engineering.

In 1978, the awards for faculty and staff excellence were established to perpetuate the high level of excellence that Dean Bromilow sought to develop in the college. The faculty award is given alternately for excellence in teaching and excellence in research. Recipients for the faculty award are selected by the College of Engineering Department Heads from nominees submitted by the engineering faculty. The awards, approximately in the amount of $1,000, are derived from earnings from donations received from family, alumni and friends and matched by endowed lectureships established through appropriations by the State Legislature.